Summer Meetings:

Meeting Archive

2017 - Milwaukee, WI
Downtown Milwaukee Marriott
July 28-31, 2017

2018 –- Glens Falls, NY
The Queensbury Hotel
July 22-26, 2018

2019 -– Canton, OH
Courtyard Canton
4375 Metro Circle NW
Canton, Ohio
July 23-26, 2019

2021 - Deadwood, SD
The Lodge at Deadwood
Pinecrest Lane
Deadwood, SD
July 20-23, 2021

2022 - Lynnwood, Washington
Location - Embassy Suites
July 22-25, 2021

Proud Partners:

The NEDC Story

In 2001 it became apparent that there was a new and important group of administrators that little was known about except on the state level. States were appointing executive directors to manage and lead their state associations. So Jerry McGee, North Carolina had a vision and began the process of forming an organization so we could work together for the betterment of our states associations and our membership. At the annual athletic directors’ conference in Orlando a meeting of state executive directors was held. The first organizational meeting was held in Orlando in 2001 at one table in the back of the room during the State Presidents Breakfast. There were seven states present: Pete Veldman, Minnesota; John and Margaret Carlisle, South Carolina; Bob Buckanavage, Pennsylvania; Marc Hunter, Utah; Gary Leeper, Colorado, Alan Mallanda of New York, Bruce Whitehead representing the NIAAA Jerry McGee representing North Carolina. The NIAAA president that year was Marty Ryan of Maine who was presiding at the meeting. We agreed that we were moving in the right direction and that we began making plans for a summer summit the following year in Indianapolis on August 10-12, 2002. At the 2002 December national conference in San Antonio a separate meeting for executive director was held. The NIAAA was providing this group with the time and resources but more importantly the recognition as a viable and worthwhile entity. It was also agreed that the second Summer Summit would be held the following summer in Chapel Hill, NC from June 6-9, 2003. The agenda became more formalized and sponsors were sought to defray costs and at that Chapel Hill meeting twenty one states were represented in addition to Robert Kanaby from the NFHS and Frank Kovaleski & Bruce Whitehead from the NIAAA. In June 2003 the National Executive Directors Council (NEDC) was officially formed.

Historical Achievements

2020-22 Officers

Chairman Vice Chairman Secretary Treasurer Development NIAAA Liaison Past Chair
Lorell Jungling, CMAA Holly Farnese, CMAA Joni Pabst, CAA Fred Balsamo, CMAA Marc Haught Greg Smith Dave Tikker, CAA
North Dakota Pennsylvania Arizona Connecticut Kansas Wisconsin Washington

2020-22 Regional Representatives

Region A Region B Region C Region D
Liz Penkala Hugh McReynolds Mike Morris Tracy Leinen, CMAA
Rhode Island Kentucy Illinois Idaho

Past Chairs

2008-10 2010-12 2012-14 2014-16 2016-2018 2018-2020
Jerry McGee Bob Bucknavage Alan Mallanda Marc Hunter Dave Tikker Mike Wagner
North Carolina Pennsylvania New York Utah Washington Deleware
Meeting Minutes
Summer Site Host Info
POP Manual
Affiliation of the National Interscohlastic Athletic Administrators Association